Football   |   Roster   |   Schedule/Results   |   News   |   Photos   |   Archives
CSU's Hedstrom is fifth Ram selected for postseason all-star game

Tanner Hedstrom

Tanner Hedstrom

Dec. 24, 2013

FORT COLLINS, Colo.—Colorado State long-snapper Tanner Hedstrom has accepted an invitation to participate in the inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl on Jan. 11, 2014 in Charleston, S.C. Hedstrom joins Rams linebacker Shaquil Barrett in this collegiate football all-star bowl game, and joins Barrett, tackle Jared Biard, tight end Crockett Gillmore and center Weston Richburg among CSU seniors earning invitations to postseason all-star games.

Hedstrom, a graduate of Fort Collins (Colo.) High School, completed his outstanding career at Colorado State in the Rams’ thrilling 48-45 come-from-behind victory of Washington State in Saturday’s New Mexico Bowl. He snapped for all four of junior kicker Jared Roberts’ field goals—including the game-winning 41-yarder as time expired—and four successful point-after attempts.

The Rams’ long-snapper since the fifth game of his freshman season in 2010, Hedstrom capped his 46-game career Saturday without producing an errant snap. Hedstrom has snapped for both of Roberts’ seasons as CSU’s kicker, during which time Roberts has established himself as the most accurate kicker in CSU history (.882; 30-34). Hedstrom also snapped for three seasons to former Rams punter Pete Kontodiakos, who finished his career in 2012 ranked second on CSU’s all-time gross punting list (43.8) by posting the best single-season mark in school history, 46.5 in 2012.

In addition to Barrett and Hedstrom playing in the Medal of Honor Bowl on Jan. 11, Richburg will play in the Senior Bowl on Jan. 25, 2014; Barrett and Gillmore will play in the East-West Shrine Game on Jan. 18 and Biard will play in the third annual NFLPA Collegiate Bowl, also on Jan. 18.

The 2013 senior class marks the first since 2005 at Colorado State to send five players to postseason all-star games. In 2005 David Anderson (Hula Bowl, Shrine Game), Mike Brisiel (Hula Bowl), Albert Bimper (Vegas All-Star Classic), Justin Holland (Vegas All-Star Classic) and Courtney Jones (Vegas All-Star Classic) accepted similar invitations.

In addition, Richburg is the first Ram selected to play in the Senior Bowl since 2004 when Joel Dreessen represented the Rams, and just the 12th in school history.

The inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl will be played on the campus of The Citadel at Johnson Hagood Stadium. Kickoff is set for 12 p.m. MT.




Press box

• Coach McElwain 2014 Camps
• Spring Game Central
• 2014 Spring Media Guide Open PDF
• 2014 Schedule (PDF) Open PDF
• Bios: 2014 NFL-Draft Eligible Rams
• Rams Signing Day Central
• 2013 Season Review
• Statistics (HTML)
• Statistics (PDF) Open PDF
• New Mexico Bowl Media Guide Open PDF
• Regular Season Notes (Infographic) Open PDF
• Game Notes Open PDF
• 2013 Media Guide
• Ticket Information
• Mountain West Standings

Football Alumni Golf Tournament

• 2013 Brochure Open PDF

Fan information

• Tickets
• Gameday Central
• Join the Touchdown Club
• CSU football on Twitter
• Coach McElwain on Twitter
• Coors Light Jim McElwain Coach's Show
• Stadium Suggestion Box
• Photo galleries

Other football info

• Camp information
• Recruit Questionnaire Open PDF


• Program History Open PDF
• Record Book Open PDF
• NFL players Open PDF