CSURAMS.COM Greg Myers inducted into College Football Hall of Fame - Colorado State University Official Athletic Site Colorado State University Official Athletic Site - Football
Greg Myers inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Myers at the Tuesday press conference

Updated Dec. 4, 2012


NEW YORK -- Colorado State football legend Greg Myers became the third Ram inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame tonight, as part of the Hall's Class of 2012 at the National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria in Manhattan. He joined Thurman "Fum" McGraw and former head coach Earle Bruce in representing Colorado State University in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Tonight's ceremony was webstreamed by ESPN3. Click here to find the direct link to watch the ceremony. Alabama center Barrett Jones, who was coached for three years by Rams head coach Jim McElwain (who attended the ceremony), took home the Campbell Trophy, also known as the "Academic Heisman."

Myers and the rest of the 17-member class met the media in a press conference this morning at the Waldorf Astoria in New York (Myers' remarks come at the 25:10 mark of the video). True to his nature, Myers used the occasion to humbly give thanks and to shine the light on his alma mater in his remarks.

"It's just a huge honor to be here," Myers began. "I'd like to thank the National Football Foundation and congratulate the rest of the inductees. It's very humbling to sit up here with such a great group of people. You don't get here alone. I really think this is a celebration of Colorado State University, the players, the coaches and the staff that were there. It's just a huge honor to be here not only as an individual here but representing Colorado State University."

Myers, now an anesthesiologist in Denver, enrolled in medical school after a six-year NFL career that followed his time as a Ram.

Recruited by Bruce out of Windsor, Colo., Myers (1995) joined McGraw (1949) as one of three consensus All-Americans in Colorado State annals, along with Mike Bell (1978). That season, Myers garnered first-team honors from the Associated Press, United Press International, Walter Camp Foundation and the Sporting News. The year before, as a junior, the Football Writers, Sporting News and Scripps-Howard listed him on their All-America teams.

The first player in Western Athletic Conference history to earn first-team all-league honors in four consecutive years (1992-95), Myers actually earned seven all-conference certificates, including his efforts as a deadly punt returner. A technician for Head Coach Sonny Lubick, Myers led the nation in 1995 with three punt-return touchdowns and 555 punt-return yards.

A two-time Thorpe finalist (1994-95), Myers capped his incredible career by winning the 1995 honor as the nation's best defensive back. He picked off 15 passes in a CSU uniform.

55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Timeline

(All Times Eastern and Approximate)
• 8:00 p.m. - Welcome by ESPN studio host and NFF Dinner Emcee Rece Davis
• 8:02 p.m. - Presentation of the Legacy Awards to Eric Long, Burke Magnus and Craig Silver
• 8:05 p.m. - Introduction of the college coaches in attendance
• 8:10 p.m. - Chris Schenkel Award presented posthumously to the late Bob Barry, Sr.
• 8:14 p.m. - John L. Toner Award presented to Mal Moore
• 8:27 p.m. - The NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments
• 8:58 p.m. - The 23rd William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth
• 9:05 p.m. - The Distinguished American Award presented to George Bodenheimer
• 9:09 p.m. - The NFF Gold Medal presented to Roscoe C. Brown, Jr.
• 9:15 p.m. - The 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Class
• 9:50 p.m. - Hall of Fame Ring Ceremony
• 9:55 p.m. - Closing Remarks and God Bless America

Nationally acclaimed ESPN studio host Rece Davis emceed the dinner ceremony while longtime Texas sports information director Bill Little moderated the morning press conference. The honorees included: 

The 2012 College Football Hall of Famers: Charles Alexander of LSU, Otis Armstrong of Purdue, Steve Bartkowski of California, Hal Bedsole of Southern California, Dave Casper of Notre Dame, Ty Detmer of BYU, Tommy Kramer of Rice, Art Monk of Syracuse, Greg Myers of Colorado State, Jonathan Ogden of UCLA, Gabe Rivera of Texas Tech, Mark Simoneau of Kansas State, Scott Thomas of Air Force, John Wooten of Colorado and coaches Phillip Fulmer of Tennessee, Jimmy Johnson of Oklahoma State, Miami Fla., and R.C. Slocum of Texas A&M. 

The 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class and Campbell Trophy Finalists: Matt Barkley of Southern California, Rex Burkhead of Nebraska, Cody Davis of Texas Tech, Nick Driskill of Mount Union (Ohio), Nick Florence of Baylor, Nabal Jefferson of Northern Illinois, Barrett Jones of Alabama, Aaron Mullane of West Texas A&M, Ryan Nassib of Syracuse, Nolan Nearhoff of Robert Morris, Ethan Peterson of MIT, Sean Renfree of Duke, Manti Te'o of Notre Dame, Patrick Ward of Northwestern and Shane Zackery of Saint Xavier (Ill.).

2012 NFF Major Award Winners: Roscoe C. Brown, Jr., NFF Gold Medal winner, ESPN Executive Chairman George Bodenheimer, NFF Distinguished American Award winner, Alabama Athletics Director Mal Moore, winner of the NFF John L. Toner Award for superior abilities in athletics administration, and Bob Barry, Sr., winner of the Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting.

Photo Gallery



Download Schedules: Add to calendar  

Basketball Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets
Basketball Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets


stadium information


My Account



Update Information

Purchase Tickets
More Headlines
Official Store
Shop Now

Follow us!