CSURAMS.COM Grayson earns spot on prestigious Walter Camp Player of Year watch list - Colorado State University Official Athletic Site Colorado State University Official Athletic Site - Football
Grayson earns spot on prestigious Walter Camp Player of Year watch list

Senior QB Garrett Grayson

July 18, 2014

NEW HAVEN, Conn.--The final watch list of the 2014 preseason is for the prestigious Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, and today Colorado State senior quarterback Garrett Grayson has earned a spot among the Walter Camp Foundation's top 50 players in college football. It is the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Grayson is one of just four players from the Mountain West to earn recognition--and the only quarterback--joining Boise State running back Jay Ajayi, Nevada defensive lineman Brock Hekking and Fresno State defensive back Derron Smith.

The senior from Vancouver, Wash., enters the 2014 season within reach of every major career passing record at Colorado State. As a junior in 2013 Grayson started all 14 games and broke the school's single-season records for passing yards (3,696), pass attempts (478) and completions (297), and tied the standard for touchdown passes (23). He is believed to be the first Colorado State player to earn preseason watch list recognition for the Walter Camp Award.

In all, 42 schools are represented on the Walter Camp watch list with Alabama having three players. There are 33 offensive players (16 quarterbacks, 8 receivers, 7 running backs, and 2 offensive linemen) and 17 from the defensive side of the ball (7 defensive backs, 5 defensive lineman, and 5 linebackers).

"We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation," Foundation president James Monico said. "This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football."

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 11. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on January 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

It has been a tremendous summer for Grayson, leading up to his senior season. Last week he spent four days among 40 of the top college quarterbacks chosen to take part in the Manning Passing Academy at Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, La. On Wednesday Grayson was named to the 39-player watch list for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

With Grayson behind center the Rams in 2013 were one of just six FBS schools to rank among the top 30 in both rushing and passing yards per game. He and running back Kapri Bibbs--a Walter Camp second-team All-American in 2013--made CSU the only FBS team last season with a 3,200-yard passer and a 1,500-yard rusher, and the first time in school history two Rams amassed such totals in the same season.

Grayson and linebacker Aaron Davis, along with head coach Jim McElwain, will represent Colorado State next Tuesday at Mountain West Media Days in Las Vegas. The Rams report for preseason camp on Sunday, Aug. 3, and take the field for their first practice on Aug. 4.

Rams season tickets for 2014 are on sale now. A full season package starts as low as $130 and includes a ticket to the Aug. 29 season-opening Rocky Mountain Showdown against Colorado and all six home games at Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium. Individual tickets and mini-plan packages that include the Rocky Mountain Showdown and two other games are also on sale. All tickets can be purchased by calling 800-491-7267 or online here.

2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year WATCH LIST
Ameer Abdullah, Sr., RB, Nebraska
Nelson Agholer, Jr., WR, USC
Jay Ajayi, Jr., RB, Boise State
Chi Chi Ariguzo, Sr,. LB, Northwestern
Vic Beasley, Sr., DL, Clemson (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Shilique Calhoun, Jr., DL, Michigan State (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Shane Carden, Sr., QB, East Carolina
Rakeem Cato, Sr., QB, Marshall
Landon Collins, Jr., DB, Alabama
Amari Cooper, Jr., WR, Alabama
Jamison Crowder, Sr., WR, Duke
Mike Davis, Jr., RB, South Carolina
Stefon Diggs, Jr., WR, Maryland
Lorenzo Doss, Jr., DB, Tulane (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Sr., DB, Oregon (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Cameron Erving, Sr., OT, Florida State (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Devonte Fields, Soph., DL, TCU
Devin Funchess, Jr., WR/KR, Michigan
Everett Golson, Sr., QB, Notre Dame
Melvin Gordon, Jr., RB, Wisconsin
Garrett Grayson, Sr., QB, Colorado State
Randy Gregory, Jr., DL, Nebraska
Todd Gurley, Jr., RB, Georgia
Vernon Hargreaves, Soph., DB, Florida
Anthony Harris, Sr., DB, Virginia (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Brock Hekking, Sr., DL, Nevada
Austin Hill, Sr., WR, Arizona
Taysom Hill, Jr., QB, BYU
Brett Hundley, Jr., QB, UCLA
Myles Jack, Soph., LB, UCLA
Duke Johnson, Jr., RB, Miami Fla. (2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Matt Johnson, Jr., QB, Bowling Green
Taylor Kelly, Sr., QB, Arizona State
Trevor Knight, Soph., QB, Oklahoma
Qushaun Lee, Sr., LB, Arkansas State
Tyler Lockett, WR, Sr., Kansas State (2011 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Sean Mannion, Sr., QB, Oregon State
Marcus Mariota, Jr., QB, Oregon
Nick Marshall, Sr., QB, Auburn
Braxton Miller, Sr., QB, Ohio State
Ty Montgomery, Sr., WR, Stanford (2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
Andrus Peat, Jr., OT, Stanford
Bryce Petty, Sr., QB, Baylor
Terrance Plummer, Sr., LB, UCF
Cody Prewitt, Sr., DB, Ole Miss
Keenan Reynolds, Jr., QB, Navy
Derron Smith, Sr., DB, Fresno State
Ramik Wilson, Sr., LB, Georgia
Jameis Winston, Soph., QB, Florida State (2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year, 2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
T.J. Yelden, Jr., RB, Alabama

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (www.waltercamp.org; @WalterCampFF) - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story. The members of the NCFAA unveiled their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.



Download Schedules: Add to calendar  

Football Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets
Volleyball Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets


stadium information


My Account



Update Information

Purchase Tickets
More Headlines
Official Store
Shop Now

Follow us!