CSURAMS.COM Senior center Richburg on Rimington Trophy watch list - Colorado State University Official Athletic Site Colorado State University Official Athletic Site - Football
Senior center Richburg on Rimington Trophy watch list

Sr. C Weston Richburg

May 21, 2013

Rimington Trophy Press Release | 2013 Rimington Watch List | Weston Richburg bio

NEW YORK--Colorado State senior center Weston Richburg was named Tuesday to the watch list for the 2013 Rimington Trophy, given annually to the best center in college football. This marks the third year in a row the Rams' center has been on the Rimington Trophy's preseason watch list, the first of what is expected to be a slew of honors for the Rams' talented leader of the offensive line. The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 11, 2014.

Richburg, who has started all 36 games of his career for Colorado State, was a second-team All-Mountain West selection in 2011, and received honorable mention All-MW in 2010 and '12. A team captain, he anchored an offensive line that saw five different starting combinations a year ago, but steadily improved as the season went along, helping the Rams to three victories in their final five games.

The Rams averaged 169.6 rushing yards per game over the last five contests of 2012, up from 99.7 the first seven games, and reduced their sacks allowed to 1.0 per game over the final five games--including just two in the final three games combined--after surrendering an average 3.6 the first five games. Richburg was a game captain at Colorado (9/1).

Last year, in addition to the Rimington Trophy watch list, Richburg also was named to the Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) and Rotary Lombardi Award (top lineman or linebacker) preseason watch lists.

A native of Bushland, Texas, Richburg will complete his bachelor's degree in animal science this summer, and will be pursuing a second degree while playing his final season in 2013.

Colorado State's football players begin their summer workout program on Monday, June 3.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The 14-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com.

About the NCFAA
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.



Download Schedules: Add to calendar  

Football Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets
Volleyball Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets


stadium information


My Account



Update Information

Purchase Tickets
More Headlines
Official Store
Shop Now

Follow us!