CSURAMS.COM Recap: Rams' Hassan finishes runner-up at NCAA Championships; Mock, Fischer earn Second Team All-America honors - Colorado State University Official Athletic Site Colorado State University Official Athletic Site - Track & Field
Recap: Rams' Hassan finishes runner-up at NCAA Championships; Mock, Fischer earn Second Team All-America honors

June 7, 2017

Results: HTML | PDF

EUGENE, Ore. - On the opening day of the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Hayward Field, Colorado State's Mostafa Hassan finished runner-up in the shot put, while the Rams' Jerrell Mock and Grant Fischer each earned Second Team All-America honors in the 10,000 meters.

Hassan's second-place finish in the shot put earned him First Team All-America distinction, while each of Mock and Fischer finished as Second Team All-Americans. CSU's total of three All-Americans is already its eighth-most in a single outdoor season in program history. Additionally, it also already ranks as the second-most men's All-Americans CSU has had in a single outdoor season in program history.

Hassan was in second place in the shot put for the entirety of the meet, opening with a throw of 66-4.5 (20.23m), his second-best of the night. Hassan improved to 66-10.5 (20.38m) on his final throw of the night, claiming runner-up honors behind only repeat outdoor national champion Filip Mihaljevic of Virginia (69-10.75/21.30m).

Mock placed 10th in the 10,000 meters with a time of 29:11.27, while Fischer placed 12th in the 10,000 with a time of 29:17.57. Mock and Fischer are the only tandem in program history to earn All-America honors in the same distance event in the same season, outdoor and indoor. The duo are also the first CSU athletes to earn All-America honors in the 10,000 meters since 1975 (Bobby Grubbs).

Hunter Price and Josh Cogdill - one of five duos from the same school competing in the NCAA Championships decathlon - completed the first five of 10 decathlon events on Wednesday. With the final five events to go on Thursday, Price places 10th with 4,070 points and Cogdill ranks 20th with 3,797 points. Among the notable decathlon results for CSU on Wednesday was a seventh-place finish for Price in the 400 meters. Price's 400 meters time of 48.56 was a new personal best.

IN THEIR WORDS
Colorado State head coach Brian Bedard
"Mostafa (Hassan) has had a special, special year. We obviously wanted him to be an NCAA champion tonight, but you've got to be at your best on that day...he wasn't, but we try to keep things in perspective. I've had athletes come here before and have an off day and just get embarrassed. Mostafa is that gifted and that talented that he has an off day and he takes second. You're also throwing against another world-class thrower - he's (Virginia's Filip Mihaljevic) the returning national champion and he was at his best. Mostafa would have had to throw right at his PR or better to beat him."

Colorado State distance coach Art Siemers
"Jerrell (Mock) and Grant (Fischer) work so well together every day in practice and then in the meets, feeding off each other and moving up together. It's great to see that they keep getting better and better each year. They're a little disappointed because they both wanted to place top-eight and score for the team, but were in the fight until the very end and gave it everything they had. Great things lie ahead for them. They're really motivated to have a great summer of training and see if we can have one of our best cross country teams ever this fall."

NOTES
- CSU's three outdoor All-Americans on the men's side this season is topped by only one other season in program history. The Rams had four men's outdoor All-Americans in 2000 (Bryan Berryhill, Mike Klass, Casey Malone and Brian Trainor).
- Each of Mostafa Hassan (2016 indoor, 2016 outdoor, 2017 indoor) and Jerrell Mock (2015 cross country, 2016 indoor, 2017 indoor) earn their respective fourth All-America honors.
- Hassan has received First Team distinction for each of his four All-America honors.
- Grant Fischer earns his second All-America honor (2017 indoor).
- In the history of CSU's men's track & field program, only Bryan Berryhill (10 from 1998-2001), Trevor Brown (five from 2012-14) and Chester Cruikshank (five from 1933-35) have earned more All-America honors in a career than Hassan and Mock.
- This meet marks the only time in program history that two CSU athletes - Fischer and Mock - have been All-Americans in the same distance event in the same outdoor season. This feat has been accomplished once indoor by a CSU duo - Fischer and Mock were each All-Americans in the 5,000 meters this past 2016-17 indoor season.

UP NEXT
The Colorado State track & field team continues action at the NCAA Outdoor Championships on Thursday, with six Rams in action. The ESPN family of networks is set to broadcast the meet live. See below for the Rams' schedule for the remainder of the week and for broadcast information.

The Rams' NCAA Championships Schedule
Thursday, June 8
11:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. PT (all day) - Josh CogdillHunter Price - Decathlon (day two)
3 p.m. MT/2 p.m. PT - Linnea Jonsson - Hammer (final)
6:02 p.m. MT/5:02 p.m. PT - Janelle Lincks - 3,000-Meter Steeplechase (semifinal)
6:32 p.m. MT/5:32 p.m. PT - Lorenda Holston - 100-Meter Hurdles (semifinal)
7:40 p.m. MT/6:40 p.m. PT - Aaliyah Pete - Shot Put (final)

Friday, June 9
8:25 p.m. MT/7:25 p.m. PT - Cole Rockhold - 5,000 Meters (final)

Saturday, June 10
4:54 p.m. MT/3:54 p.m. PT - Janelle Lincks - 3,000 Meter Steeplechase (final)
5:12 p.m. MT/4:12 p.m. PT - Lorenda Holston - 100-Meter Hurdles (final)

ESPN Broadcast Schedule
Thursday, June 8
WatchESPN (ESPN3) - 11:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. PT
ESPN2/WatchESPN (ESPN3) - 5:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. PT

Friday, June 9
WatchESPN (ESPN3) - 1:30 p.m. MT/12:30 p.m. PT
ESPN/WatchESPN (ESPN3) - 6:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. PT

Saturday, June 10
WatchESPN (ESPN3) - 12:30 p.m. MT/11:30 p.m. PT
ESPN/WatchESPN (ESPN3) - 4:30 p.m. MT/3:30 p.m. PT


 

 

Schedules
Download Schedules: Add to calendar  

Tickets
Football Icon
FOOTBALL

TICKETS

2017-18


On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets
Volleyball Icon
VOLLEYBALL

TICKETS

2017-18


On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets
Stadium
ON-CAMPUS

STADIUM

Up-to-date
stadium information

CSU

Stadium
My Account
MY ACCOUNT

LOGIN HERE

RENEW SEASON TICKETS

Update Information

Purchase Tickets
More Headlines
Shop
CSU RAMS
Official Store
Shop Now

Follow us!

Instagram