Outdoor Track
Rams earn eight all-conference track & field awards

Ryan Billups

Ryan Billups

May 17, 2010

By Danielle Marshall
Athletic Media Relations

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The Mountain West Conference announced its men's and women's outdoor track & field all-conference teams Monday. All-MWC selections were awarded to the top three finishers in each event at last week’s conference championships.

CSU senior Ryan Billups set a school record Saturday in Albuquerque, N.M., in the triple jump. On his final attempt he jumped a distance of 15.46 meters (50 feet, 8.75 inches), surpassing the previous record by 10 inches set by Michial Clark back in 1970.

Caston Mabin, a sophomore out of Aurora, Colo., placed second in the men’s high jump Friday, clearing a height of 2.04 meters (68-25), tying for 10th all-time in CSU’s record book. Junior Tyson Williams finished third in the shot put. On his third attempt he threw a distance of 17.27 meters (56-8). The team of Brian Fox, Sulaiman Sayyid, Kelby Dias and Antoine Harrison crossed the finish line in 40.97 seconds in the 4x100-meter relay Friday.

Kristen Hemphill earned all-conference honors in both the 3,000-meter steeplechase and the 5,000-meter run. The senior finished first in the steeplechase, clocking a time of 10:35.85, breaking the track record at New Mexico by over 7 seconds. In the 5,000-meter run, Hemphill placed second with a time of 17:29.39.



Freshman Elizabeth Johnson placed second in the women’s discus on Friday. She threw a distance of 44.50 meters (146-0).

Senior Kristen Kugler came in second in the women’s heptathlon Thursday with 5,057 points. She placed first in the javelin throw (38.96 meters, or 12-10), first in the 800-meter run (2:23.19), second in the high jump (1.67 meters, 5-5.75) and second in the shot put (12.59 meters, 41-3.75). 

Ryan Billups  Triple Jump
Caston Mabin  High Jump
Tyson Williams  Shot Put
CSU 4x100-meter relay  Brian Fox, Sulaiman Sayyid, Kelby Dias, Antoine Harrison

Kristen Hemphill

 3,000-meter steeplechase, 5,000 meters
Elizabeth Johnson  Discus Throw
Kristen Kugler  Heptathlon

Men's Coach of the Year - Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Women's Coach of the Year - Craig Poole, BYU
Men's Outstanding Performance - Charles Silmon, TCU (100-meter)
Women's Outstanding Performance - Amanda Bingson, UNLV (Hammer)
Men's High Point Award - Leif Arrhenius, BYU (28 points)
Women's High Point Award - Mindy McClurkin, BYU (32.5 points)