Outdoor Track
Track & field recap: CSU Women remain in lead after third day

Kristen Hemphill

Kristen Hemphill

May 14, 2010

Women's Results | Men's Results

By Danielle Marshall
Athletic Media Relations

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The Colorado State women’s track & field team owns first place after three days of competition at New Mexico. The Rams lead with 67 points, 21.5 ahead of second-place New Mexico. The CSU men are currently in fourth place with 32 points.

In the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase, Colorado State senior Kristen Hemphill, who currently owns the third-fastest time in the NCAA, crossed the finish line first to become the first Ram to win the event in conference history. Her time of 10 minutes, 35.85 seconds, set a new G.F.O UNM Track Stadium record, breaking the previous mark of 10:43.64 set in 2003 by BYU's Lisa Antonelli. Teammate Nicole Peters finished fifth in the event with a time of 11:14.02.

In other running events, Ellie Rastall finished fourth with a time of 38:09.01, Sarah Heuer crossed the finish line just after Rastall at 38:23.73, Kendra Gerk took seventh with 39:06.86 and Michelle Dettmann placed 11th in the 10,000-meter run with a time of 40:25.90.

In women’s field events, Rachel Saunders finished tied for 12th in the pole vault. She reached a height of 3.45 meters. Meagan Berg, Leah Elmshauser and Jenna Sliwinski took fourth, fifth and sixth in the hammer throw. They threw 56.16 meters, 55.80 meters and 52.92 meters, respectively. The Rams had five athletes competing in the discus throw. Elizabeth Johnson placed second with a throw of 44.50 meters, Berg finished fifth with 43.82 meters, Hilary Fraser took seventh with 43.42 meters, Jennifer Ugochukwu finished eighth with 42.55 meters and Serena Johnson rounded out the top 20 with a distance of 37.44 meters.



On the men’s side, Ryan Friese qualified for the finals in the 800-meter run. He finished seventh with a time of 1:53.64. Daniel Wallis placed fourth in the 10,000-meter run, crossing the finish line at 32:34.14. Teammates Andrew Lesser and John O’Neil finished eighth and ninth with times of 33:30.26 and 33:57.77, respectively. Kelby Dias and Brandon Ribble qualified for the finals in the 110-meter hurdles. Dias took third place with a time of 14.60 and Ribble placed eighth at 15.17. Nigel Joseph will move onto the finals in the 400-meter hurdles. He captured fourth with a time of 52.82. In the 3,000-meter steeplechase Jake Keyser finished fifth, crossing the line at 9:26.98 and Spenser Lynass placed seventh at 9:35.27.

In the field events, Caston Mabin placed second in the high jump with a height of 2.04 meters. Joseph placed highest for the Rams at ninth in the long jump with a distance of 7.03 meters. Teammates Ryan Wasilawski, Ribble and Nnamdi Agwu finished 11th (6.85 meters), 15th (6.64 meters) and 16th (6.53 meters), respectively. The Rams had four athletes competing in the discus throw. Cameron Carter finished fifth with a throw of 49.34 meters, Ian Lettow placed ninth with a distance of 47.32 meters, Tyson Williams took 11th with a throw of 44.80 meters and Carson Rowley placed 13th with 43.25 meters. The same four athletes also took part in the hammer throw. Lettow finished sixth with 53.95 meters, Williams placed seventh with 51.11 meters, Carter finished 10th with 49.40 meters and Rowley placed 11th with a throw of 46.92 meters.