Indoor Track
Eight Rams earn indoor track all-conference honors

Nigel Joseph

Nigel Joseph

March 2, 2009

By John Manuszak
Athletic Media Relations

FORT COLLINS, Colo. - Eight Colorado State athletes were named Monday to the Mountain West Conference indoor men's and women's indoor track and field teams. Five CSU male athletes and three female athletes were honored. All-conference selections are awarded to the top three finishers in each event at the conference meet.

Junior Ryan Friese led the way for the Rams on the men's side as he was the lone CSU athlete to capture an individual title. Friese won the 800-meter run in a personal-best time of 1 minute, 51.17 seconds, which marked the second-fastest time in school history. His time provisionally qualified him for the NCAA championships. Also for the men, junior Nigel Joseph (60-meter hurdles), freshman Caston Mabin (high jump), sophomore Tyson Williams (shot put) and junior Kevin Wills (high jump) earned all-conference honors.

On the women's side, senior Kristen Hemphill was named all-conference for the second straight year as she finished third in the 3,000-meter run (10:10.60). Freshman Sonni Russell (high jump) and junior Jennifer Ugochukwu (shot put) also earned all-conference honors.

The performances by Friese and Ugochukwu at the MWC meet provisionally qualified them for the NCAA championships. In addition, seniors Alex Godell (weight throw) and Missy Faubus (shot put) provisionally qualified earlier this season. All four athletes must now wait to see how their times stack up against other competition to learn if they will take part in the NCAA championship meet, scheduled for March 13-14 at Texas A&M.