The Virginia K. Frank Award was established in 1976 to honor the most outstanding female athlete each year at Colorado State. Virginia Frank was a pioneer in women's athletics at CSU beginning in 1950 when she arrived on the campus of Colorado A&M College to assist women's athletic director Elizabeth Forbes. Frank helped to establish intercollegiate athletics for women in the late 1950s so that the women of CSU could compete among other schools rather than just in intramural athletics.

Frank was instrumental in establishing the first women's track team and the first women's swimming team more than 15 years before Title IX. Frank's guidance and leadership made her the women's athletic director in 1959 when Forbes retired and women's athletics excelled under her leadership. Virginia Frank-Olsen was inducted into the CSU Sports Hall of Fame in 1994 and has remained an integral part of CSU athletics since her retirement.


2013 Dana Cranston Volleyball
2012 Katelyn Steffan Volleyball
2011Danielle MinchVolleyball
2010Kristen HemphillTrack
2009Mekana BarnesVolleyball
2008Janay DeloachTrack
2007Janay DeloachTrack
2006Dre DownsVolleyball
2005Loree SmithTrack
2004Loree SmithTrack
2003Ashley AugspurgerBasketball
Sanja HanssenTennis
2002Angela KnopfVolleyball
2001Liz TomanTrack
2000Catie VagneurVolleyball
1999Shelly GreathouseTrack
Becky HammonBasketball
1998Becky HammonBasketball
1997Nikki JohnsonSoftball
1996Teresa JamesBasketball
1995Julie La Cour AndersonTennis
Kristi MorrisonTrack
1994Amy Van DykenSwimming
1993Debbie MaasTrack
1992Sandy HamTrack
1991Jeannette BeitzSwimming
1990Amy BrookoverSwimming
1989Amy BrookoverSwimming
1988Diane SabaVolleyball
1987Val LangSwimming
1986Sherri DanielsonVolleyball
1985Karen KreuzerBasketball
1984Sue NitchmanVolleyball
1983Deb SpicklerBasketball
1982Laura MooreField Hockey
1981Susan KnoxGolf
1980Lyn GriggsSwimming
1979Nancy HoldenField Hockey
1978Cindy WittebortBasketball
1977Mary HarringtonTrack
1976Pat RiesselmanSwimming