The first individual trophy in CSU history was established in 1929 by William and Elwood Nye, both former Aggie athletes. The Nye Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding male athlete every year and has become the most coveted trophy given out on an annual basis. Elwood Nye ran on Harry Hughes' first track team in 1911-12 and graduated with his doctor of veterinary medicine in 1914. His younger brother William ran on the track team and was a member of the 1915 and 1919 conference championship football teams, he graduated with his DVM in 1920.

Colonel Elwood Nye spent 29 years with the United States Army veterinary corps, beginning his service in 1917 when the United States entered into WWI. His brother William, also a veterinarian, spent most of his life in Idaho and Montana. Both brothers supported Colorado Aggies athletics in every way possible and in 1929 decided to establish the Nye Trophy Award. They continued to come back to the school each year to personally present the award until their deaths, William died in 1965 at the age of 70 and Elwood died in 1975 at the age of 83.


2013 Colton Iverson Basketball
2012 Wes Eikmeier Basketball
2011Andy OgideBasketball
2010Bryce HanstadGolf
2009Gartrell JohnsonFootball
2008Jason SchutzTrack
2007Jason SmithBasketball
2006David AndersonFootball
2005Joel DreesenFootball
2004Martin LairdGolf
Bradlee Van PeltFootball
2003Brian GreeneBasketball
Drew LoftinTrack
2002John WoodsTrack
2001Bryan BerryhillTrack/XC
2000Kevin McDougalFootball
1999Bryan BerryhillTrack/XC
1998Moses MorenoFootball
1997Calvin BranchFootball
1996Greg MyersFootball
1995Anthoney HillFootball
1994Mattias BorrmanTrack
1993Greg PrimusFootball
1992Greg PrimusFootball
1991Brian CopelandFootball
1990Mike MitchellBasketball
1989Pat DurhamBasketball
1988Pat DurhamBasketball
1987Steve BartaloFootball
1986Rich StrongBasketball
1985Keli McGregorFootball
1984Terry NugentFootball
1983Richie HallFootball
1982Eddie HughesBasketball
1981Kevin SheesleyWrestling & Football
Alvin LewisFootball
1980Jon SinclairTrack
Ritchie HarrisTrack
1979Mike BellFootball
1978Al BakerFootball
1977Glenn GoyaBaseball
1976Mark DriscollFootball
1975Marshall SmithTrack
Theo DigernessGymnastics
1974Bruce GintherTrack
1973Gary RhoadesBasketball
1972Lawrence McCutcheonFootball
1971Rick CooleySwimming
1970Tom ProulxGymnastics
1969Bill KishmanFootball
1968Alton LavanFootball
1967Tom PackFootball
1966Lonnie WrightBasketball
1965Kenneth BlairFootball
1964Del HesselTrack
1963William GreenBasketball
1962Nick KohlsFootball
1961Kay McFarlandFootball
1960Charles NewcombBasketball
1959Fred GlickFootball
1958Robert WeberFootball
1957Gary HibbardBasketball
1956Gary GlickFootball
1955William TavenerFootball
1954 Joe MohorcichFootball
1952Dale DodrillFootball
1951Jack ChristiansenFootball
1950Thurman "Fum" McGrawFootball
1949Don MullisonFootball
1948Alva FinckFootball
1942Jim StinnettFootball
1941Larry MillerFootball
1940Lewis WendelFootball
1939Joe PetersFootball
1938Norman CableFootball
1937William WagnerFootball
1936Chester CruikshankFootball
1935Glen MorrisTrack
Sam CampbellFootball
1934John ToliverFootball
1933Lora McDonaldFootball
1932Albert WhiteFootball
1931Eugene BallFootball
1930Dan BeattieFootball
1929Glen DavisFootball