Athletics News
Six award winners honored

Myers with former football coach Sonny Lubick

Myers with former football coach Sonny Lubick

Oct. 29, 2012

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – Six CSU student-athletes including former football All-American Greg Myers, were recognized Friday night at the Hall of Fame dinner in Fort Collins.

Myers, a two-time All-American and Academic All-American, and four-time all-conference performer, will be inducted into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Dec. 4 in New York City.  He was recognized as the winner of the 2012 Keli McGregor Award for his post-graduate accomplishments.

The award is named in honor of its namesake, who was a football All-American who later played in the NFL before embarking upon a career in sports management, including as president of the Colorado Rockies baseball club until his untimely passing in April of 2010.

The list of honorees includes:

  • Nye Trophy – Wes Eikmeier (men’s basketball) – Most Outstanding Male Student-Athlete
  • Virginia K. Frank Award – Katelyn Steffan (volleyball) – Most Outstanding Female Student-Athlete
  • Merrill-Gheen Award – Jesse Carr (men’s basketball) – Most Oustanding Male Scholar-Athlete
  • Mencimer Memorial Award – Nicole Peters (women’s cross country/track) – Most Oustatnding Female Scholar-Athlete
  • “Fum” McGraw Award – Chris Nwoke (football) – Award for tenacity and doing things the right way 
  • Keli McGregor Award – Greg Myers (football) – Award for post-graduate accomplishments

Katie Frank, daughter of William Nye – the namesake of The Nye Trophy, which is awarded annually to the Most Outstanding Male Student-Athlete, was on hand during Saturday’s football game between the Rams and Hawaii. Frank presented memorabilia to be displayed in the CSU Athletics Hall of Fame Room.