CSURAMS.COM CSU to Induct Top Alumni Athletes - Colorado State University Official Athletic Site
CSU to Induct Top Alumni Athletes

Oct. 14, 2009

Four former CSU stars will be inducted into the 2009 Sports Hall of Fame during the annual banquet this fall. The inductees include an All-American swimmer, a WAC All-conference basketball player, a WAC football player of the year, and a 3-time WAC wrestling champion.

Jeanette (Beitz) Crawshaw competed on the CSU Swim Team from 1989 to 1991. She was a Freshman All American at UCLA and an All American at Fort Collins High School in 1987. Jeanette won numerous awards including the Frank Award for best female athlete and the NCAA Woman of the Year, both in 1991. She was a 3-time All Conference swimmer and achieved All-American and Academic All American honors in 1991.

Pat Durham was a star basketball player for CSU from 1985 to1989. He set a number of CSU records including career scoring, season scoring, career rebounds, career field goals and free throws made and attempted. Pat was first team All-Conference in 1988 and 1989 and Conference Player of the year in 1989. He received the Nye Award for best male athlete in 1988. Pat played professionally in Europe for 11 years retiring in 2007. Gary Ozzello, CSU's Senior Associate Athletic Director said of Pat "There is no question in my mind that in the 35 years I have been involved in CSU athletics, he is the finest men's player I have seen."

Moses Moreno played quarterback at CSU from 1993-97 and is in the top five in passingTD's, total passing yards, and total offense, and among the top 25 in the WAC in the same categories. In 1997, Moses was named WAC Player of the Year, Holiday Bowl MVP, and Team MVP. He finished third in career passing and career total offense and was Nye (athletics) Trophy winner in 1998. Moses was a seventh-round draft pick of the Bears in 1998 and started for both the Bears and the Chargers.

Kevin Sheesley wrestled and played football at CSU from 1977-82. He earned four letters in both wrestling and football and won more matches than any wrestler in school history. He compiled a 67-20 record, including going undefeated in junior and senior years and was undefeated and ranked as high as 2nd in the country prior to an injury just before the national tournament). Kevin was a three-time Conference (WAC) champion in the 190 pound weight class and was a 2-time M.I.W.A champion and 2-time Western Regional Champion. He was the starting outside linebacker in junior and senior year, finishing second on the team in tackles both years. Voted honorable mention honors by the WAC's coaches following the 1979 season and was a member of the All Century Football Team. He won the Nye Trophy in 1982 for Best Male Athlete.

Former fans of these athletes should make plans to attend the 2009 Hall of Fame banquet. The Hall of Fame Banquet is Friday, October 30 at the Hilton Fort Collins; tickets are $50 each. Please call (970) 491-4666 for additional information and to purchase tickets.

All-Sport Calendar | Download Schedules: Add to calendar  

Football Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets
Volleyball Icon



On Sale Now!

Purchase Tickets


stadium information


My Account



Update Information

Purchase Tickets
More Headlines
Official Store
Shop Now

Follow us!