Athletics News
Reservation deadline extended for CSU Hall of Fame induction ceremonies

Six-time Olympian Amy Van Dyken returns to emcee CSU Hall of Fame banquet

Six-time Olympian Amy Van Dyken returns to emcee CSU Hall of Fame banquet

Oct. 11, 2011

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – CSU’s six-time Olympic gold medalist Amy Van Dyken is returning to emcee the school’s Hall of Fame banquet Friday, and the athletic department has extended the deadline for reservations.

The Fort Collins Marriott, the home of the Rams, is hosting the celebration, in conjunction with the football team’s clash with No. 5 Boise State this weekend at Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium. Induction ceremony tickets are $50 per person or $500 for a table of 10. Reservations can be made by calling CSU Events at 970/491-4601.

Colorado State will welcome five new members to its Sports Hall of Fame during induction ceremonies Friday. Van Dyken, one of the most prominent members of the Hall of Fame, will kick off the program at 6:30 p.m., following cocktails at 5:30 p.m.

The 2011 class features Courtney Cox, a former volleyball player; Gerry Glyde, a former standout in cross country and track; Ray Jackson, a former football star who set CSU’s career record with 20 interceptions; Teri Klement, a former softball player; and Don (Lefty) Straub, a former baseball player.

The headliner is Jackson, who started at cornerback for the Western Athletic Conference champions in both the 1994 and ‘95 seasons. His CSU career accolades weren’t limited to the field, as he was named first-team all-WAC in addition to the 1995 College Football Association (CFA) Good Works Team for leadership and community service.

After his time in Fort Collins, Jackson played in the NFL from 1996-2001 for the Cleveland Browns and Buffalo Bills. After his playing career, he went on to work for the Browns and the Pittsburgh Steelers, where he currently serves as the AFC champion’s director of player development.