Athletics News
CSU to induct Susemihl into Hall of Honor

Christine Susemihl

Christine Susemihl

Sept. 11, 2008

By Zak Gilbert
Athletic Media Relations

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – Longtime administrator Christine Susemihl and former quarterback Anthoney Hill will be among those honored at the annual Colorado State Hall of Fame induction banquet, Sept. 19 in Fort Collins. Tickets are still available for the event.

Susemihl, in her 36th year as a CSU athletic administrator, will be inducted into the university’s Hall of Honor, a prestigious recognition reserved for coaches, staff and others who have made a significant impact on the success of the athletic department.

“Christine has been an invaluable asset since I arrived,” said Director of Athletics Paul Kowalczyk, “but that’s indicative of her years of service to Colorado State University and Ram Athletics. She’s the consummate professional and is especially deserving of this honor.”

The Rams’ senior associate athletic director and senior woman administrator, Susemihl oversees academic student services, compliance, business operations, human resources, the training room, the weight room and 13 of the department's 16 intercollegiate sports. She is a member of the Joint Council of the Mountain West Conference and just completed a term as a member of the MWC Executive Committee and chair of the SWAs.

Past winners of the Hall of Honor Award include former university President Albert C. Yates, former trainer Fred Oglesby, current administrator Doug Max, current track & field coach Brian Bedard and current volleyball coach Tom Hilbert. Voting is conducted by the Varsity Athletes Club board of directors, based on nominations received for the award.

The Hall of Honor Award is presented annually in conjunction with induction ceremonies for CSU’s Hall of Fame Banquet. Former student-athletes Hill, Rich Harris, Teresa (James) Hinz, Drew Loftin and Ollie Woods will be inducted into the Colorado State Hall of Fame.

Banquet information and ticket deadline: This 2008 Hall of Fame Banquet will take place at the Hilton Fort Collins with a cocktail reception beginning at 5:30 p.m. with dinner to follow at 7 p.m. Tickets are $50 per person or $500 for a table of 10. To register, please call Deidra Church at 970/491-7285. The deadline for registering is Monday at 5 p.m.